Heidi’s Wonderful Thanksgiving Holiday!!

November 29, 2009 at 9:48 am 9 comments

LOS OSOS, CA Sunday morning – I knew if I planned a quiet holiday weekend, it would probably not happen — and it didn’t — but that’s ok!!  It was a wonderful holiday weekend!!

Gary & Gina

This year, I told all of my family I was cooking Thanksgiving dinner no matter what.  I didn’t care who came, I was going to cook for Thanksgiving.  Last year we went to visit our granddaughter Savannah at boarding school. I so missed the holiday smells and the leftovers when we returned home. This year as our family continues to grow with extended families of their own… I knew some of our kids wouldn’t be able to visit.

Our daughter Gina and her hubby Gary came visiting first. My daughter Starr and her daughter Savannah came and joined us for dinner which was sooooo good.

After Thanksgiving yummies Gina and I headed for the studio…Gina loves to mosaic. My family frequently receives my mosaic art for gifts. She says she never tires of mosaics. (Good to know ’cause I was thinking everyone would tire of them!)  So we

Mosaics on Brick

mosaic’d away all day Friday.

Gina and Gary decided to plant a rosebush for each of their kids.  They wanted to make mosaic garden art to place by each plant — isn’t that a cool idea!  So here are the mosaic brick garden art pieces we created.  Gina picked words and alphabet letters to match each mosaic. We had so much fun!!!

Then just as Gina and Gary left for home with their treasures, our son Woody and his family stopped by. We went over to the beach and gathered stones (check out the heart shapes I found – love them!). I was able to get a photo of Woody, Suzi and the girls while the boys (Mason, Josh and Vince) climbed the rocks.

The ocean was amazing today.  So I thought I would share it.

The weekend isn’t quite over but it has been amazing…..yes I am grateful for my family.

Audriana, Suzi, Woody, Kaila

Sending Lots of Love, Heidi

Entry filed under: About Us. Tags: , , .

Myrrh – Herbal and Medicinal Inspired at Home Radio – November 29, 2009

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. EileenHull  |  December 11, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    Heidi,
    Your Thanksgiving sounds so nice. How many children do you have (I know they’re not kids anymore! mine either :-))? Love that your daughter likes to craft with you. All of mine have talent but don’t have the time as they are getting started in their careers but I have hope for them! Love your studio!
    Eileen

    Reply
  • 2. Heidi  |  December 12, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Hi Eileen
    My husband (of 30 years) and I have 6 kids between us. I have 3 (he has 3) and we have 11 grandchildren plus 1 great grandchild. My kids have all picked creative careers…..not crafts but creative!!! 🙂 Anytime any one visits it’s definitely craft time…they all seem to love to spend time in the studio. I’m glad cause they all need the creative crafting break!

    Reply
  • 3. EileenHull  |  December 12, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Holy cow! That’s a lot of family! GREAT- grandchild??? No wonder they love going down to your studio. It is so cool. Do they live nearby? Mine are all over the place right now. 😦

    I have 4 kids and one granddaughter, and we’ve been married 29 years. Mine have gone the service route- 2 military, 1 nurse and last one still in college, but they are all creative in their own way and I hope they keep that spark going because that’s the fun part! Where in CA are you? My Coast Guard daughter is in Alameda.

    Reply
  • 4. Heidi  |  December 13, 2009 at 12:14 am

    We live in Los Osos, it’s on the central coast of California near San Luis Obispo. We live a few blocks from the ocean. We are about half way in between L.A. and San Francisco. My daughter Starr lives about 1 mile from us (she has 3 children) my oldest son lives about 1-1/2 hours he has 3 kids. Three of the our kids live in Los Angeles area. One lives in Las Vegas. Momma Aleene lives close to L.A. Alameda is near San Francisco isn’t it? My older brother Fred was in Coast Guard there many years ago. Where do you live??

    Reply
  • 5. EileenHull  |  December 13, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Near the ocean… that’s my dream. Yes, Alameda is near SF. I’ve only been out once to visit her and now she’ll be moving again in May! You are lucky that your kiddos are nearby. We are actually talking and buying a place on the water when my husband retires. One way to be sure the kids will come visit! We live about 25 miles west of DC in VA which is nice. There’s lots to do and always fun things going on. But the traffic is crazy. My husband was in the army and assigned to the Pentagon. We would up staying so the kids could all go through the same high school- we like it here- have made lots of good friends.

    Reply
  • 6. Heidi  |  December 14, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Yes we did the ‘retire by the ocean’ thing. My husband worked for the utility company in downtown LA for over 30 years. We now have an acre which we love the open space. You live (kind of) close to Tiffany and Candace. They live over the bay bridge in Queenstown, Md. I think they call it the Eastern Shore. I usually fly into Baltimore airport which is about an hour from where they are. I have flown out of DC airport before. You should go visit them some time….or meet for lunch in Annapolis or Baltimore!!!
    Heidi

    Reply
  • 7. EileenHull  |  December 15, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Heidi, that’s funny- I was thnking the same thing- that I should take a road trip out Tiffany and Candace’s way! The Eastern Shore is really pretty. I know where Queenstown is- they have an outlet mall and we’ve been there many times 🙂

    We are very lucky too- we have 3/4 acre. The guy we bought the house from took a 100 year old barn and put it up in the back yard. We have lots of fun out there- parties, a Barn Sale every Nov.- very handy. Still no match for the ocean though 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Heidi  |  December 15, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Yes you should do a road trip!!!…… Candace’s House is about a mile from the Queenstown outlet mall, on the Wye River. We go to the outlet mall every time I visit. Her store is in Grasonville which is only about 2 miles from the outlet mall.
    Are you going to CHA this year?

    Reply
  • 9. EileenHull  |  December 15, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    Oh cool. I will have to get out there. I should have looked on a map to see where Grasonville was. Maybe I can go out after CHA. I will be there- have taken a booth again in License & Design which I am working on feverishly right now! Will you be there? That’s not too far from you is it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 146 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

