Artist Play Date – Heidi’s Bliss

September 13, 2009 at 11:45 am Leave a comment

IAH-132Heidi-Bliss-TagLOS OSOS, CA – Sunday morning – As you know, our wonderful Inspired at Home Radio Craft Concierge Maria Nerius challenged us to a creative play date this last week. Since I spend most of my weekdays in my studio, it was no challenge to get me into the studio!  It was fun to change my focus from my other design projects to create a tag!  Here’s the inspiration behind my design!  Thanks for the challenge Maria! >>Heidi

Inspiration

So how did this tag design become …..Follow Your Bliss……?

What was the inspiration behind the tag?

Well …I started out with a completely different tag…. Much smaller, different words, not so much fru fru…my thought process…“this would be quicker.. Right?   Quicker!… yes!!… I need to get this done before Thursday and it’s already Wednesday afternoon!!  Smaller card is good!!!”

First thought… I wanted to use one of my plastic lizards (they are on the table from another project).  The lizard in Native American lore is dreaming. (Rekindle lost goals or desires – expand your vision – honor messages in your dreams- Medicine Cards) First design thought was Dream a little Dream but there are too many letters to fit onto my small card….. And I’m thinking I don’t want a little dream- I want a big dream. (I never thought about putting ‘Dream a big Dream’.) Nope whole new idea starting at this point!

Now I’m reaching for the bigger card…in fact two cards… and thinking layers and textures… I have my lizard (and by now he’s been blinged with some gold leaf, decorative wire and beads )… Looking around for that all important texture……ahhh  ha!  Corrugated cardboard from a Starbucks sleeve…mesh from back of tile I just put away and yarn I just bIAH-132TableStuffought at Tuesday Morning!  On my table is a jar with oven baked clay imprints I’ve already made up and there it is…one of my favorites ‘Follow Your Bliss’ . A little antiquing, some embossing and twisting some wire accents into place AND then the card just came together!!!  Done!!! (It’s now Thursday afternoon… was the deadline Thursday at midnight???)

That’s how it happened….. Now I just have to clean up… I sure got a bunch of stuff out for this project……

Entry filed under: About Us. Tags: , , .

Artist Play Date – Candace’s Doll Artist Play Date – Tiffany’s Butterfly Tag

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

