Packaging Tape… not just for Taping!

September 12, 2009 at 4:11 pm Leave a comment

IAH-136TapeSwellLOS OSOS, CASaturday afternoon – Eileen Eisele of Tape Swell was a recent guest on our Inspired At Home radio show. If you haven’t checked out this product – go now! WOW!!!  These are the coolest printed tapes ever! “Printed tapes? ” you ask. This is one of those fabulous ideas that you say to yourself  ” I should have thought of that!!!”  Eileen has a line of  packaging type tapes that have really “swell” designs printed on them. So instead of sending out a package with just plain old clear tape, you use  one of  TapeSwell’s designer tapes and viola! instant inspired package. I LOVE it!!!

Of course I didn’t want to stop at putting tape just on my outgoing packages…. I wanted to design with it!  I took some inexpensive paper mache boxes and made them into designer boxes by using the black printed design.   I suggest making lots up… cause you never know when you might need a small gift box. And what could be easier that just putting tape onto a box. So super swell and simple!!!

IAH-136TapeSwellTapesOh no, I didn’t stop there!!! You know me, I just have to create more!!  Jewelry was my next design challenge with this amazing product.  The EcoHeidi in me thought it would be great to create with a recycle item. I love plastic drinking straws. These are great because they are a bit thicker than most plastic straws. (I’m pretty sure I got these at Subway.) I painted the plastic drinking straws black  (Krylon’s Fusion Paint for Plastic works great!) Let them dry. Cut the painted straws into different lengths. I then put pieces of  the plastic tape (I used the tape that looks like lace) over the prepared drinking straws.  I then threaded glass beads and the straw beads onto a strand of silk cording. I tied a knot in between each cluster.  At the end I crimped a metal cording bead, then attached a closure.  Fabulous look!!

I just can’t rave enough about TapeSwell!!! And thanks, Eileen, for your creative product! I Love It!! Just being creative!! EcoHeidi- That’s me!!

Entry filed under: Crafty Things, Heidi, Inspired at Home Radio, Recycling. Tags: , , , , .

Inspired Shrine by Candace Jedrowicz Artist Play Date – Maria’s Seahorse

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 144 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

