‘The Shed’ or Clutter with a capital ‘C’

August 11, 2009 at 9:00 am 2 comments

8-10-09-Outside-ShedLOS OSOS, CA – Tuesday morning – This past week I’ve had two of my grandsons visiting….. Joshua, 16 and Mason, 11. Joshua is always such a great help and we are always grateful when he comes to help us. (It’s the extra pair of strong arms to help carry and move stuff!!) Mason, with his amazing energy, helps in small moments then explores our property. In other words it’s hard to keep him focused very long. This week we decided to tackle ‘The Shed’ ! It’s one of those places that seems to collect everything we think we want to keep… after all, we will use that ‘everything’ sometime…won’t we?

8-10-09-Grey-Totes-Aleene-AWell ‘The Shed’ was becoming the ‘black hole’ of stuff including the Aleene’s archives (at least 15 large plastic grey totes), my Christmas stuff (six large plastic totes…but they are red and green so I know which ones they are), other holiday decor (including two big outdoor wood decoration pieces…one  is a rabbit the other is Mr & Mrs Santa and reindeer plus some cutout wood Christmas trees), my kiln (it’s pretty big), lots of bisque (from my store that closed 3 years ago), extra paints (both spray and house), my band saw, my scroll saw), my drill press, my husband’s table saw, the generator (we are all set if the power goes off), and about 300 pounds of sanded grout (20to 30 colors– a 10# bag of each)….. Yes I probably missed a few things!!

8-10-09-Hazel-ArchivesSince I’ve recently collected the Hazel Pearson archives (I haven’t really counted box by box but I’m thinking over 50 boxes), I was thinking it could go into ‘The Shed’…. if I just arranged it right…..Right?  Well that meant emptying everything….. building usable shelving and then putting everything back in its special space.  Five days later… yes we have an organized area where I can find everything…. you can actually walk into ‘The Shed’ . Whoo Hoo!!!

I did find lots of treasures but we’ll talk about that next time. So, for now I’m just a little bit more organized. Lovin’ it! >>Heidi

Now what I didn’t tell you…. is that was only one part of ‘The Shed’.  There is a whole other section with my husband’s ‘everythings’ from his electrical business!!!  That’s a whole different story!!!

Entry filed under: Heidi, Musings. Tags: , , , .

Great Radio show last night! Amazing What Treasures You Will Find When You Clean Up!!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. More Design Treasures « Inspired at Home’s Blog  |  August 17, 2009 at 6:25 am

    […] I would share some more design treasures I recently found from inside my storage building  ‘The Shed’. Not long ago we would say ‘The Shed’ with an eerriee frightening voice… […]

    Reply
  • 2. What to do with Dryer Sheets « Inspired at Home’s Blog  |  August 31, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    […] Aleene’s Creative Living television show.  (And yes, these were tucked away in storage in  ‘the Shed’). I have made many since these originals, as they make a great gift for just pennies, and you get […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top Clicks

  • None

