Creative Window Treatment

July 27, 2009 at 6:00 am 1 comment

7-27-09-Studio-Window-AfterLOS OSOS, CA – Monday morning – I know I’ve said it before but…… I just LOVE my new studio.

Everyday it just gets better.  But better doesn’t even begin to describe it…Fabulous!!!  Yep that’s it!!!

The studio is taking on its own personality. Actually, I guess that would be my personality!  The energy is fun, inspiring, creative, and definitely colorful.  As my creative guests walk through the door, they are often surprised…the creative energy just bursts from all corners of this fun space.

My newest addition is my creative window treatments. I have amazing natural light in the studio, mostly from my three skylights. But I also have three south facing windows that look into a dog/dirt/orchard (* see definition below) view.  So my creative “idea factory” mind…started to process…what to do?   Many of the retail craft stores often have wonderful small bolts of ribbons on sale…so I started to collect lots of fun colors, shapes and sizes of ribbons.

7-27-09-Studio-Window-Befor

Boring, plain window before!

This week I started my project. First I put a spring tension rod into the window space.  Then I started to tie or tape various strands of my yardage collection onto the rod.  Next, I found some glass prisms (lots of childhood memories of those) and some wonderful glass blown ornaments (no Tiff, I haven’t used the ones from mom’s collection…….yet 🙂

So, I’m thinkin’ it’s probably a work in progress…’cause I just keep adding to it… who knows…if I need a special 1/8″ wide regal purple ribbon, I just might have to ‘borrow’ it from its display. I will definitely keep you posted on this magical addition to my creative studio space.

Sending lots of creative love your way! >>Heidi

*Definition of dog/dirt/orchard:  a fruit orchard that our dogs run through and make a mess…dig holes…run  (and sometimes pick their own fruit ) errrrrr!!!!

7-27-09-RibbonSpoolsOh btw: Check out all the empty cardboard ribbon bolts… I think I’ll challenge myself to recycle these! Stay tuned for Challenge Heidi! (I actually already have a great idea for them.)

Entry filed under: Crafty Things, Heidi. Tags: , , , .

Onions aren’t just for cooking! Great Radio Show Last Night!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 144 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top Clicks

  • None

