Aleene Jackson Craft Museum

June 21, 2009 at 1:19 pm 2 comments

Aleene_life_full_page_color

Aleene Jackson - Life Magazine - January 5, 1953

GRASONVILLE, MD – Sunday morning – Whew! It has taken me weeks but I finally finished posting a new section of the Aleene Jackson Craft Museum!  I’m really excited about this new posting because we have had so many requests about “where can I find Aleene’s Wood Fibre”. Unfortunately, it is no longer available, but the history of Wood Fibre and its role in the Aleene’s history is now available for you to read on-line!

So many people are familiar with the famous Aleene’s Tacky Glue but they are not aware of how Aleene actually got started in the creative business. In 1944, at the age of 19, she opened a retail florist shop in Arcadia, California while our father was serving in WWII.  She closed that business after her first child (that would be Candace) was born and worked out of her house teaching classes. It was from that fresh flower business that Aleene launched her Make Your Own Corsage Kit. But, the constant stream of delivery truck to the house bringing floral making supplies started to get on the neighbor’s nerves so she opened a new retail store location in Rosemead, California.

Make-Your-Own-Corsage-Kit-AOn Friday April 1, 1949, Aleene ran this ad in the Los Angeles Examiner announcing that the Aleene’s Make Your Own Corsage Kit was available for purchase at Bullock’s Downtown (Los Angeles).

As you read on in the Aleene Jackson Craft Museum history, you will learn how Aleene quickly outgrew her Rosemead store location and expanded her business with the addition of Formosan Wood Fibre which brought her to national attention with her television appearances and feature in the January 5, 1953 issue of Life Magazine.

This new addition to the Museum is a fun read!  I had so much fun reading and researching and scanning and putting it together. I hope you enjoy it! >>Tiff

Entry filed under: Aleene Jackson - Family History, Tiffany. Tags: , , , , , .

Vinegar is a great home remedy! I Love My Aleene’s Super Thick Tacky Glue

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MaryJane Mauger  |  August 18, 2009 at 8:51 am

    I am so glad I happened onto this blog, Aleene was a program I always watched and many of her shows included a new technical tool which I always purchased and was always ahead of all other crafters. Thank You

    Reply
  • 2. Maureen Spaulding  |  December 4, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I can not tell you how much I miss your show, your family and friends and that time everyday when I got to relax and watch the you all make the newest crafts and tools to make the most beautiful products.
    I also miss the force your family was in the craft industry. Because of your company we got new products every year that worked and worked well. I can not say that I have found that to be true with most products I have bought since.
    I have written to HGTV and DIY and even PBS begging them to bring you back to TV to bring us back to quality!
    You are missed and I am glad I found this site!
    Happy Holidays and I hope all are well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 144 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top Clicks

  • None

