Heidi’s Newest Mosaic Commission

May 26, 2009 at 3:03 am Leave a comment

Heidi-Chef-MosaicLOS OSOS, CA – Tuesday morning – Well here it is —  all done –my newest commissioned mosaic. Yippeeeeee!  Well at least my part of the mosaic. Keep in mind I did not have to install or grout this piece. I created the mosaic on tile mesh, then the tile installers at the job site will be attaching it to a wall above my client’s cook top in the kitchen, then they will grout the entire project. This is for a new home in Cambria, California. I will get final photos when the project is complete.

It was a challenging week trying to layout this mosaic. The background tiles were almost 1/2″ thick, therefore I could not nip them with my handy dandy tile nippers.  The letter tiles had a crackle glaze finish…therefore extremely difficult to cut – no again to the tile nippers. Crack… chip… crack errrr!!!  Thank goodness for my friend and fellow stained glass and mosaic artist Nita Overley for letting me borrow her extra ring saw!!! Unfortunately, it was an older extra saw. I ran into difficulties on certain parts that had to be replaced (blade, ring bearing, belt, metal and plastic raceways). All said and done….. it is done and I am grateful.  Lots of lessons learned including pricing  (I’m worth so much more!)…. and I’m going to buy my own ring saw! Yep!! BIG lessons. Lots of Mosaic Love to you! >>Heidi

Entry filed under: Crafty Things, Heidi, Mosaic. Tags: , .

I Love My Aleene’s Instant Decoupage Fairie Garden Welcome

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

