Creating a Little Magic for Myself!!!

April 23, 2009 at 7:53 pm 3 comments

bright_step_stone-v3_4-23-0LOS OSOS, CA – Thursday night – Sometimes I just need to create something for myself. It may take me a long time for the process, with all the other projects I have pending, but eventually I get it finished. Here is my most recent mosaic stepping stone!!!!!

A friend of mind gave me a few of these dishes she had purchased at a yard sale. (She bright_step_stone-v1_4-23-0had no choice but to give them up — I was practically drooling over them!!) I fell in love with the colors.  So during a stepping  stone class several weeks back (ok.. so it could have been a month or so) I decided to create right along with everyone.  A dinner plate is always perfect to place around the outside edge of a round stepping stone. I carefully nipped my plate for the outside edge.  I glued everything into place without really thinking there had to be a precise pattern…I was just going for the colors. I actually remembered to take a “before bright_step_stone-v2_4-23-0the grout” photo. In this photo, the mosaic looks pretty, but in the finished photo above, it looks WOW! It’s amazing how the grout always brings everything together…..like magic!!!

Yep! I’m just creating a little magic for myself! >>Love,  Heidi

Entry filed under: Crafty Things, Heidi, Mosaic. Tags: , , .

Musically Talented Grandkids!!! I Love My Aleene’s 2 in 1 Glue

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LeeAnn Garrett  |  May 5, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    I love this mosaic stone. Could you use this stone outside?

    Reply
  • 2. Heidi  |  May 5, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    LeeAnn
    Yes! you can definitely use these outside. I recommend the Weldbond Glue to glue pieces onto the cement stepping stone. After you grout with sanded grout. Seal the mosaic with an exterior sealer (I usually do couple of coats.) I have mosaic stepping stones that have been outside for about 5 years and still look great. If you live in an area that freezes, I recommend adding an Acrylic Additive to grout instead of water (Available at home improvement ctrs.)
    Don’t forget to send us a photo when you make yours!!
    Happy Mosaic-ing
    Heidi

    Reply
  • 3. Inspired Bath! « Inspired at Home’s Blog  |  May 13, 2009 at 6:20 am

    […] May 13, 2009 GRASONVILLE, MD – Wednesday morning – My Creativity Sisters have been mosaicing for years. [Did you see my sister Heidi’s pretty plate mosaic blog posting. LOVE IT!  Go here>> […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

