Almost Spring Cleaning!

February 20, 2009 at 12:59 pm Leave a comment

LOS OSOS, CA – Friday morning – It seems like weeks since I’ve been here to post (sorry about that Tiffany!)  1st. I have been busy cleaning the studio with the help of granddaughter Savannah (she is on break and home visiting from boarding school).  I love it when she is able to help me. She is such a great cleaner-upper. She will do anything that needs to be done. She even helped paint the outside of the studio awhile back.  I was able to grab her away from friends for a couple of days to help me with some of my projects. I’m just noticing the studio seems to really have a lot of dust especially since our fruit tree orchard is right outside the window. It is something I will have to address in the future. Savannah was able to dust everything and get the shelves bsavannah_kendraack to normal – if that’s possible!!  We also removed a table for extra space. There is actually a corner we could dance in.  The studio is looking great!!

2nd.  I taught my mosaic brick class last night at my studio. Everyone enjoyed the easy-to-do technique. Everyone always has fabulous results. These bricks make really cute door stops or mantle sitters or table art and best of all – anyone can create this do-it-yourself art! Here’s a photo of Savannah and her friend Kendra with Kendra’s brick. Great job Kendra!

soda_cans_stacked_2in3rd. Savannah and I were also able to cut and clean over 600 soda cans to be ready for making into recycled art and jewelry. My hubby Harold cuts the tops and bottoms off with the band saw – yes, that would be 1200 cuts! –  and Savannah and I cut and cleaned them.pin_heart_pink We then sort them into colors and sizes, place a clean paper towel in pin_angel_silver_red_on_purbetween each can and stack them for storage (see photo at left). They are then ready to be cut and shaped into fabulous creations. I make all sorts of jewelry items and wall art from my recycled soda cans! Here are a few examples of what I make with them! PS. I have some of my one-of-a-kind SodaPoppy jewelry available to buy on-line today at the Inspireddogs3 at Home website. Yes, with over 600 cans needing this preparation, it has been awhile since we had done it not to mention where they were being stored – namely everywhere in my design studio!!

Oh I also gave both my dogs (Dewey and Coco) a bath today! So . . . see, I haven’t been doing nothin’. Just busy with stuff!!

Have a fabulously creative day! >>Heidi

Entry filed under: Heidi, Marketplace, Mosaic. Tags: , , , , , .

Laugh & Craft Relax & Craft!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 144 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

