The Aleene Jackson Craft Museum

February 13, 2009 at 8:36 pm 2 comments

GRASONVILLE, MD – Friday night – While Heidi and Candace have been having fun dreaming up new craft and herb projects, I have been diving into my own fun project – the launch of the Aleene Jackson Craft Museum. 

The Creativity Sisters have been talking about this project for years now. There are thousands of photos to scan and projects and original Aleene’s books to share but we’re up to the task.  It was when I discovered this 1944 Resale License in Mom’s memorabilia that I was really hooked on this project.  On July 31, 1944, Mom was granted this license for her first business – a retail florist shop. It was from this little shop that Mom started on her 55+ year career. Little did she know that when she arranged those first flowers in 1944 that she would be starting a phenomenon that would sweep the globe and change the lives of so many women. Did you know that Aleene’s Tacky Glue was first named “Glue d’Aleene” but after designers started asking for that “tacky” glue, this household staple took on its new name. 

What’s making this project’s journey even sweeter for me is that as I unpack photos and documents, I am giving Mom a call and asking her about what she remembers about that time in her life.  So, the Aleene Jackson Craft Museum is a blog of sorts that will take us all back in time. The Museum will give the Aleene’s fans a touch of the nostalgic past and Inspired at Home will launch you into your creative future! 

I look forward to your joining me in this creative adventure! Creatively yours!  Tiffany

Entry filed under: Aleene Jackson - Family History, Musings, Tiffany. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Mad About Mushrooms You are the Music Mosiac

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jean Blevins  |  February 14, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    It is so much fun to read about all the recent activities of the Creativity Sisters. I will be married sixty years this fall so you know that I have been around a long time. One of the happiest times of my life was when Aleene’s Creative Living was on the air. I looked forward each day to each episode. Okay! Okay! I still have videos I recorded then. And I also have a drawer filled with Creative Living magazines.

    I’m glad that your mother is still active. I have a ninety-five year old sister that I talk to each day on the telephone.

    I love reading blogs and thanks for sharing your thoughts and memories. Best wishes, Jean

    Reply
  • 2. Martha Viele  |  February 17, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Are you going to publish a book on Aleene’s Museum? You’ve got a winner if you do. I used to love watching her shows–she seemed so friendly that I felt like I knew her personally and I learned so much from her and the rest of the guests.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 145 other followers

Feeds

Featured on . . .

Cool2Craft LIVE TV Channel

Recent Tweets!

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

Top Clicks

  • None

